Loading Events

« All Events

Rosie Raja: Churchill’s Spy

18 September 2022, 11.00am

£6.00
'Rosie Raja: Churchill's Spy' book cover
'Rosie Raja: Churchill's Spy' book cover
'Rosie Raja: Churchill's Spy' book cover
18 September 2022, 11.00am

Rosie Raja: Churchill’s Spy

Join Sufiya Ahmed as she discusses her latest book, a thrilling and empowering Second World War adventure set in occupied France.
 Talk | Families
 £6.00 (adults go free)

Box office

 You can also book by calling 0131 226 0014.

 The box office line is open Monday to Friday, between 10.00am and 6.00pm.

 Check our Festival FAQs for more booking information

Ticket deal

 Book three or more events and save 20%.

 Tickets must be purchased in the same transaction.

 The offer does not apply to any tickets which include a book + ticket discount.

The event

July, 1941. Rosina Raja is half-Indian and half-English. She has always lived in India, so when her mother passes away and she moves to England – where it rains all the time – she is miserable and doesn’t have any friends. Life changes dramatically for Rosie when she discovers that her army captain father is actually a spy for the British government. She can’t bear to be left behind so she stows away in his plane.

Finding herself in occupied France, Rosie is soon drawn into the struggle against the Nazis. With new allies and new enemies at every turn, she must help her father complete his mission, and more importantly… make sure they both get home alive.

An exciting adventure about the French resistance and their British allies, with a determined, Muslim heroine. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Emma Carroll, and those looking for diverse historical fiction.

The speaker

Sufiya Ahmed worked in advertising and in the House of Commons before becoming a full-time author. In 2010, she set up the BIBI Foundation, which arranges visits to the Houses of Parliament for children from underprivileged backgrounds.

Sufiya has written several children’s books including My Story: Noor-Un-Nissa Inayat Khan, Secrets of the Henna Girl and Under the Great Plum Tree, which was longlisted for the UK Literacy Association Book Awards.

Venue information

 Check our Venues page to find out where we are, how to get here and what facilities are available on site.

Details

Date:
18 September 2022
Time:
11.00am - 12.00pm
Cost:
£6.00
Event Category:
Event Tags:

Venue

National Army Museum (Foyle 2)
Royal Hospital Road
London, SW3 4HT United Kingdom