Loading Events

« All Events

Billie Swift Takes Flight

18 September 2022, 1.30pm

£6.00
'Billie Swift Takes Flight' book cover
'Billie Swift Takes Flight' book cover
'Billie Swift Takes Flight' book cover
18 September 2022, 1.30pm

Billie Swift Takes Flight

Are you ready to fly? Join Iszi Lawrence as she talks about her latest book, a gripping coming-of-age adventure set during the Second World War.
 Talk | Families
 £6.00 (adults go free)

Box office

 You can also book by calling 0131 226 0014.

 The box office line is open Monday to Friday, between 10.00am and 6.00pm.

 Check our Festival FAQs for more booking information

Ticket deal

 Book three or more events and save 20%.

 Tickets must be purchased in the same transaction.

 The offer does not apply to any tickets which include a book + ticket discount.

The event

October, 1942. When 12-year-old Billie is out exploring with her pet chicken, she sees a plane crash into a field and is left wondering if the pilot even survived.

Determined to find out more, Billie finds a way into the ATA – a group of amazing pilots who defy the odds to get planes from the factories to the front lines – and her life changes for ever. Some of the pilots are men who are too old, or too injured for the air force. But many more are women – intrepid, inspiring women who show Billie what she might grow up to become.

The story of the Second World War starring the brilliant pilots you’ve never heard of… the women of the Air Transport Auxiliary (ATA), who battled against the odds to get the air force’s planes to the front lines. This coming-of-age tale is perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, Michael Morpurgo and Hilary McKay.

The speaker

Iszi Lawrence is an author, comedian, podcaster and history presenter. She’s appeared on Netflix, presented BBC Radio 4’s Making History and hosts a number of podcasts, including The British Museum Membercast.

She loves jiu jitsu, dabbles in illustration, plays the guitar, likes cooking and dinosaurs.

Venue information

 Check our Venues page to find out where we are, how to get here and what facilities are available on site.

Details

Date:
18 September 2022
Time:
1.30pm - 2.30pm
Cost:
£6.00
Event Category:
Event Tags:

Venue

National Army Museum (Foyle 2)
Royal Hospital Road
London, SW3 4HT United Kingdom